Trump approves Iowa disaster declaration


Trump approves Iowa disaster declaration

President Trump has approved a disaster declaration for most of Iowa after record-setting flood damage.  The White House announced Saturday afternoon the declaration clears the way for federal assistance in 61 of Iowa’s 99 counties.  Trump also declared a disaster in Nebraska earlier this week.

Individuals and businesses
in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, and Woodbury counties can apply for
temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property
losses, and other programs.  Federal
funding is available in 56 other Iowa counties to State, tribal and eligible
local governments as well as qualified private nonprofit organizations on a
cost-sharing basis for emergency work.

The Federal Emergency
Management Agency says damage assessments are continuing, and additional areas
may be designated for assistance after the assessments are fully completed.
Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties
can begin applying for assistance today by registering online at or by calling

2019-03-23T18:45:14-05:00Agriculture News|