EPA issues emergency E15 waiver for summer

The Environmental Protection Agency is issuing an emergency waiver to allow E15 to be sold this summer.

The waiver will go into effect May 1 so retail stations can start selling E15 on June 1.

EPA Administrator Michael Regan says allowing E15 sales during the summer driving season increases fuel supplies, supports American farmers and strengthens the nation’s energy security.

Biofuel groups are responding positively. The American Coalition for Ethanol says it’s grateful the EPA has responded to their requests for the emergency waiver. ACE says it’s the third consecutive year the EPA has issued an emergency E15 waiver and Congress must adopt the bipartisan National Consumer and Retailer Choice Act to make sure there’s continuous E15 nationwide moving forward.

Eight Midwestern states will be allowed to sell E15 year-round in summer 2025 including Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.